NSW DER Laptops

A forum for teachers that are using the NSW Digital Education Revolution (DER) laptops

You are not connected. Please login or register

Royal Gold Medal

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Royal Gold Medal on Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:55 pm

The Royal Gold Medal for architecture is awarded annually by the Royal Institute of British Architects on behalf of the British monarch, in recognition of an individual's or group's substantial contribution to international architecture.
It was first awarded in 1848 to Charles Robert Cockerell and its winners include many of the most well-known architects of the 19th and 20th centuries, including Sir Giles Gilbert Scott (1925), Frank Lloyd Wright (1941) and Le Corbusier (1953). In 1992 the Irish structural engineer Peter Rice became the second engineer to receive the award; the first was Ove Arup in 1966. Another notable exception was the 1999 award to the city of Barcelona.
The award is for a body of work, rather than for one building or for an architect who is currently fashionable.

Patagonia Travel
groomsmen gift

View user profile

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum