NSW DER Laptops

A forum for teachers that are using the NSW Digital Education Revolution (DER) laptops

You are not connected. Please login or register

Just a little freedom

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Just a little freedom on Sat Dec 26, 2009 2:38 pm

Hello,
I am a certain student in Yr9 finding that the school laptops too restrictive to get real work done on them. I find all my informative research sites blocked and I cannot install foreign software onto the laptop such as tablet drivers. I find it hard in class to keep with with all the programs just simply required to draw a mindmap. I'm really sick of all the constant hoop-jumping required just to push the digital education revolution. Can't I just draw the mindmap in my book? That and my typing speed on the DET laptop is abysmally slow because of the tiny keys. It's impractical compared to my 86 wpm handwriting speed. On my own computer I use Windows' tablet support to recongnise my handwriting. When I tried to use the DET laptop they refused to let me install the tablet driver that allows me to use my tablet device in class. I wish the government would authorise this and the Corel Painter software I use to digitally paint. Those are my worst gripes with my DET laptop which is why I am intending to break the charter on purpose so I can finally be free of being driven to use a laptop I find hardly initiative.

I hope the DET authorise these two pieces of software for educational use. It would benefit me greatly.
Henry.

View user profile

2 Re: Just a little freedom on Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:01 am

Aerois wrote:Hello,
When I tried to use the DET laptop they refused to let me install the tablet driver that allows me to use my tablet device in class. I wish the government would authorise this and the Corel Painter software I use to digitally paint.

I hope the DET authorise these two pieces of software for educational use. It would benefit me greatly.
Henry.